You are here
Home > News > Finally, Buhari Swears in Six INEC Commissioners

Finally, Buhari Swears in Six INEC Commissioners

Social media sharing

•Assures credible elections onwards
…Jude Johnson

The President of Nigeria,  Muhammadu Buhari,  has finally sworn in six National Resident Electoral Commissioners(REC), several months after they were nominated fill in their respective geopolitical zone’s vacancies for the Independent National Electoral Commission(INEC).

Buhari conducted the swearing-in on Wednesday,  inside the Council chamber of the State House Presidential Villa, Abuja,  before the commencement of the Federal Executive Council (FEC) meeting.

The nominees, who  had earlier been confirmed by the Nigerian Senate had to be sworn in by the president as required by Section 154(1) of the Nigerian constitution 1999 as amended. The six nominees include: Mr. Ogunmola Ladipo (South West), Mrs. May Agbamuche (South South), Mr. Abubakar Nahuche (North West) and  Mr. Okechukwu Ibianu (South East),  Mr. Mohammed Haruna (North Central) and Ahmad Muazu (North East).

Buhari while speaking at the ocassion, said that the commissioners are persons of integrity and assured they would discharge of their duties diligently and objectively without fear or favour.

He charged the new commissioners to change the course of elections violence in the country in the future polls by learning to avoid the tragedies of the past.

He said: “You are coming on board at a critical time of our political
development. I am sure you have truly observed the bye-elections
from Kogi to Bayelsa, Rivers, Edo and Ondo. I am sure you are even
concerned about the carnage in some of the elections and the
resources dissipated.

“This administration is extremely concerned about the integrity of the electoral processes. You are people of
great integrity known throughout the country.”

“This administration will demand of you to be firm and fair. What this administration expects is that after we have left, Nigerians will look at the political history and know that we served Nigeria.

“We want every Nigerian to use his Permanent Voters Card (PVC) processed by card reader, that they have been given the opportunity and security in their various constituencies to elect who they want to elect. The rest is left to their conscience and to God,” he added.

Meanwhile, the abridged profile of the commissioners showed that  Ladipo from Oyo state was born on May 7, 1952, who until his swearing in Wednesday, he was the Resident Independent Electoral Commission, REC, in Lagos State;  and Agbamuche,  a lawyer is the Editor Thisday Lawyer, a publication of Thisday Newspaper; while Nahuche from Zamfara state was born on May 19,1953.  He is a retired Army officer and a former CEO of defunct NITEL.

Also,  Ibianu from Anambra state was born on November 3,1959,  and a former Technical adviser to INEC from 2010-2015; and Haruna, a seasoned Journalist, from Niger state was born on September 22,  1951, was an editor of New Nigerian Newspaper‎. He was the spokesperson to former Head of State, Abdulsalami Abubakar; while  Muazu, a retired Air Vice Marshall of Nigerian Airforce was born on September 6, 1967 in Gombe.

Speaking on behalf of the newly sworn in commissioners, Ibianu commended the president  ‎and Nigerians for “the challenging opportunity to serve the country”.

He assured of the commissioners commitment  to discharge their responsibilities  in line with the oath of allegiance and office they just sworn to.

“We seek the support and prayers of the government and people of Nigeria so that we can discharge our functions to the best of our abilities and contribute to improve the advances and achievements that have been recorded in our electoral processes so far,” he said.

Social media sharing

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.