You are here
Home > Security > Military/Defence > Insurgency: Nigerian Army reorganises, promotes 231 senior officers

Insurgency: Nigerian Army reorganises, promotes 231 senior officers

Social media sharing

•Gets 29 new Major Generals, 95 Brigadier Generals 

Senator Iroegbu 

The Nigerian Army Council has in complied with the directive of President Muhammadu Buhari and Minister of Defence, Brig-Gen. Mansur Muhammad Dan-Ali (rtd) to reorganise and motivate the officers and soldiers of the Nigerian Armed Forces,  for effective counter-terrorism and counter-insurgency efforts operation across the country.

To this end, the Council has approved the promotion of over 230 senior officers including 29 senior officers who were elevated  from the rank of Brigadier Generals to that of Major Generals.

The Director of Army Public Relations (DAPR), Brig-Gen. Sani Usman, who announced the promotion late Monday night, said the council had carried out the action earlier in the day.

Usman gave a further breakdown of the promotion exercise to include: 95 Colonels to Brigadier Generals, 106 Lieutenant Colonels to Colonels and one Major to Lieutenant Colonel, respectively.

Among those promoted to the rank of Major General are: Brigadier General TOB Ademola, Nigeria Defence Attaché to China,  Brigadier KO Ogundele, Director Coordination at the Armed Forces Command and Staff College,  Brigadier General ON Ugo, Brigadier General AO Uthman, Brigadier General M Bashir and Brigadier General MM Mshelia.

Others include  Brigadier General US Mohammed,  Brigadier General IO Ehiorobo, Brigadier  General CG Musa, Brigadier General CO Ofoche, Brigadier General DH Alli-Keffi, Brigadier General A Kigbu, Brigadier General YI Shalangwa, Director Army Legal Service and Brigadier General SZ Kazaure,  Director General National Youth Service Corps, amongst others.

“Those promoted to the rank of Brigadier Generals include Colonel AA Ayanuga, Colonel SC Ogbuanya, Colonel FO Ilodibia, Colonel EF Oyinlola, Colonel SO Oloyede, Colonel S Kawugana, Colonel FG Dimlong, Colonel OK Falade, Colonel IZ Ohiaka, Colonel CS Okafor, Colonel A Yellow-Duke, Colonel MA Etsu-Ndagi, Colonel AM Alechenu, Colonel Y Yahaya and Colonel IG Lassa. Others include Colonel PAO Okoye, Colonel AO Oyelade, Colonel MLD Saraso, Colonel VE Emah, Colonel RI Odi, Colonel WD Nasiru, Colonel LA Jimoh, Colonel AP Ahmadu,  Colonel QA Ahmed and Colonels JS Sura”, he stated.

Promoted  Lieutenant Colonels are: CA Magaji, AA Bello, CE Ugworji, CY Ufurumazi, K Imam, CE Aniorha, MC Akin-Ojo, KO Kalu, AY Emakoma, MA Dogo, MG Udotong, BA Adeshina and I Sadiq, were promoted to the rank of Colonels. Others promoted Colonels include NC Achikasim, BI George,  YD Ishaku, EA Otseh and SB Salisu, amongst others. While Major UA Musa is promoted Lieutenant Colonel.

The approval of the promotion by the Army Council for the senior officers today, is the last for the year. The promotion exercise is expected to re-energise the beneficiaries towards the discharge of their tasks and responsibilities.

Earlier, Dan-Ali had directed the Nigerian military chies to reorganise their operational commands at various security hotspots and theatres of  operations, especially the war against Boko Haram terrorists.

Here the Minister’s statement:

Social media sharing

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.