You are here
Home > Security > Military/Defence > NAF promotes 64 senior officers in morale boosting gesture 

NAF promotes 64 senior officers in morale boosting gesture 

Social media sharing

14 AVMs, 36 Air Commodores, 14 Group Captains

•Grants concessional commission to 4 SNCOs


Senator Iroegbu


The Air Force Council (AFC) in line with the directive of President Muhammadu Buhari and Minister of Defence, Mansur Muhammad Dan-Ali to take necessary measures to motivate the military personnel,  has approved the promotion of a total of 64 senior officers to the next higher ranks in the Nigerian Air Force (NAF).

This was announced in statement by the Director of of Public Relations and Information (DOPRI), Air Commodore Ibikunle Daramola.

Daramola said the affected senior officers comprise of 14 Air Commodores who were promoted to the rank of Air Vice Marshal (AVM), 36 Group Captains promoted to Air Commodore and 14 Wing Commanders promoted to the rank of Group Captain.

He also said that in line with the provisions in Chapter 8 of the Harmonized Terms and Conditions of Service (HTACOS) Officers 2017 (Revised), the AFC also approved the concessional commission of three Air Warrant Officers (AWO) and one Master Warrant Officer (MWO) to the rank of Flight Lieutenant.


Those promoted to the rank of Air Vice Marshal include Air Commodores James Gwani, Moses Onilede, Charles Umolu, Olurotimi Tuwase, Musa Muktar, Emmnuel Alade and Musibau Olatunji. Others are Air Commodores Maxwell Nnaji, Sule Lawal, Aliyu Bello, Ismaila Yahaya, Emmanuel Chukwu, Abdullahi Kassimu and Ibrahim Ali.

Among those promoted from the rank of Group Captain to Air Commodore include Precious Amadi, Eneobong Effiom, Francis Edosa, Ndubuisi Okoro, Abubakar Sule, Olufemi Odeyinde, Olasunkanmi Abu, Razaq Olanrewaju, Micheal Ekwueme, Simon Peter,  David Pwajok, Suleiman Usman, Patrick Obeya, Ahmed Shinkafi, Ayodele Laoye, Nnamdi Ananaba, Esen Efanga and Ademuyiwa Adedoyin.

Others promoted to the rank of Air Commodore are: Abdulrasheed Kotun, Albert Bot, Kennedy Mataluwo, Shehu Bakari, Zayyan Usman, Henry Yurkusi, Bashir Mamman, Jibrin Usman, Mohammed Ibrahim, Anthony Martins, Mohammed Aliyu, John Ukeh, Mohammed Yusuf, Adeniran Ademuwagun, Isaac Abatan,  Gideon Bako, Anthony Ekpe and Okey Ezeanyagu.


Those elevated to the rank of Group Captain include: Wing Commanders Valentine Oraeki, Abraham Sule, Abubakar Muhammed, Shehu Chindo, Oluwaseun Oluwatayo, Mohammed Ahmed, Adolphus Akins, Ali Idris, Idris Suleiman, Ibrahim Shehu, Dogari Apyeyak, Yahaya Bashir, Logomfa Nansoh and Mba Igbe.

The DOPRI listed the Senior Non-Commissioned Officers (SNCOs) granted concessional Commission to the rank of Flight Lieutenant include: Air Warrant Officers Julde Muhammed, Mohammed Madugu, Theophilus Enem and Master Warrant Officer Samuel Ogunnubi.


He said: “The promotion exercise is expected to motivate the affected officers to re-dedicate themselves towards more effective and efficient service delivery”.

“The senior officers and newly commissioned officers will be decorated with their new ranks at a later date.”


Social media sharing

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.