You are here
Home > News > Reconsider travelling to Nigeria, US warns citizens

Reconsider travelling to Nigeria, US warns citizens

Social media sharing

Godsgift Onyedinefu

The United States of America’s Department of State has warned its citizens against travelling to Nigeria because “violent crime, such as armed robbery, assault, carjacking, terrorism, civil unrest, kidnapping, rape and piracy, is common throughout the country.”

The State Department, in a travel advisory recently released on its official website, said it has labeled high-threat countries with a ”K” indicator.

Nigeria was listed among 35 countries with the “K” indicator which indicates where its citizens could be at risk of being kidnapped or taken hostage.

The department said: “The new “K” indicator is part of our ongoing commitment to provide clear and comprehensive travel safety information to U.S. citizens so they can make informed travel decisions.

“The Travel Advisories for 35 countries have been updated to include a “K” indicator for the risk of kidnapping and/or hostage taking:  Afghanistan, Algeria, Angola, Bangladesh, Burkina Faso, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Colombia, Democratic Republic of the Congo,  Ethiopia, Haiti, Iran, Iraq, Kenya, Lebanon, Libya, Malaysia, Mali, Mexico, Niger, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Philippines, Russian Federation, Somalia, South Sudan, Sudan, Syria, Trinidad and Tobago, Turkey, Uganda, Ukraine (in Russian-controlled eastern Ukraine), Venezuela, and Yemen.”

While Nigeria was placed on level 3, the US department of state issued a level 4 travel alert for Borno, Yobe and Adamawa states.

“The security situation in northeast Nigeria is fluid and unpredictable, particularly in Borno and Yobe States and northern Adamawa State,” the department said.

“Terrorist groups based in the Northeast target churches, schools, mosques, government installations, educational institutions, and entertainment venues. Approximately two million of Nigerians have been displaced as a result of the violence in northeast Nigeria.”

The 35 countries were placed in four levels of travel with respect to their safety and security risk.

1.Exercise normal precautions.

2. Exercise increased caution

3. Reconsider travel

4. Do not travel

Social media sharing

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.