Sun. Apr 21st, 2024

President Muhammadu Buhari has also directed heads of agencies and departments including the Central Bank Governor, Godwin Emiefele and envoys who have political ambitions to resign.

Recall that Buhari on Wednesday directed all ministers eyeing political offices to resign.

This is contained in circular to the Chief of Staff to the President, Deputy Chief of Staff to the President, Office of the Vice-President, Honourable Ministers/MInisters of State, Head of the Civil Service of the Federation, amongst others signed by Boss Mustapha, Secretary to Government of the Federation, dated Wednesday.

Buhari had at Federal Executive Council meeting on Wednesday asked Ministers who have signified interest to contest election to resign from their positions.

Some MInisters including Godswill Akpabio, minister of Niger Delta Affairs; Chris Ngige, minister of labour and employment; Ogbonnaya Onu, minister of science, techology and innovation; Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba, minister of state for education; Rotimi Amaechi, minister of transportation; Timpriye Sylva, minister of state for petroleum are contesting for the All Progressives Congress presidential ticket.

Also Attorney General of the federation and Justice MInister, Abubakar Malami is contesting for Kebbi governorhsip election while Godwin Emefiele, CBN Governor is constesting for the presidency.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *