Wed. Jun 19th, 2024

Russia imposed sanctions on President Biden and other top U.S. officials, in a move aimed at restricting travel to Russia in response to “unprecedented sanctions” preventing Russian officials from entering the U.S.

Russia’s foreign ministry said on Tuesday that it also sanctioned Secretary of State Antony Blinken, Defense Secretary Lloyd Austin, CIA Director William Burns and White House press secretary Jen Psaki. The list also includes former Secretary of State Hillary Clinton and Mr. Biden’s son, Hunter Biden.

The Kremlin’s latest round of travel restrictions includes 13 people, and the foreign ministry said the measures could be expanded.

“In the near future, new announcements will follow to expand the sanctions list by including top U.S. officials, military, lawmakers, businessmen, experts and media people who are Russophobic or who contribute to inciting hatred against Russia and the introduction of restrictive measures,” the foreign ministry said in a statement.

The foreign ministry also said it was banning Canadian Prime Minister Justin Trudeau from entering Russia, as well as Foreign Minister Mélanie Joly and Minister of National Defense Anita Anand.

The move came after Canada said Friday it was imposing new sanctions targeting Kremlin-linked oligarchs, including Roman Abramovich.

Russia said it was open to maintaining official relations with individuals on its sanctions list.

Credit | WSJ

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *